The Page a Day Writers Group

Adventures in Revision

Posted on: May 16, 2011

Tonight is the first meeting of a new online class I’ve enrolled in with the goal of revising my novel draft. Our fearless instructor, published author Kathy Giorgio, will lead seven of us, all with novels-in-progress, through the swampy mire of revision for 12 weeks. She can’t promise any miracles but I intend to learn as much as possible, and to keep an open mind to changes necessary to improve my story.

Each participant can submit up to 15 pages per week for critique. We commit to providing feedback to each student (I feel fortunate there are only seven of us), and receive a more intensive edit from Ms. Giorgio. Tonight we meet in a chatroom to discuss our first submissions.

I debated another in-person class, but decided to try an online forum. I took an in-person class about 1 1/2 years ago, when I was at a much rougher stage with my novel. I decided online was a practical choice for me this time, as it saves me from having to drive to the class once a week in the evening. The online arena has the added bonus of being able to cry in my pajamas in front of my computer as my work is poked and kicked over the next three months.

So, I look forward to sharing the tears and joys. I’d love to hear your revision stories, too. What is your process?

Here’s a link to the class information: http://www.allwriters.org/on_line_classes.asp#BOOK-WRITING WORKSHOP.

Write on,

Ondine Brooks Kuraoka

1 Response to "Adventures in Revision"

I wish you the very best with this class, and as few tears as possible, unless they are happy ones.

I took a five year course in Professional Writing and Editing and dreaded the feedback from my peers, most of whom seemed to think they had the right to rip other students’ stories to shreds, but were not meant to get the same in return. I would have been happier to have been at home in my pyjamas at those times 🙂

Let us know how it goes. Seven is a good number to have in a class, allows for closer attention from the tutor.

Liz

Leave a Reply

Who are we?

The Page a Day Writers Group is a diverse collection of wonderful writers based in San Diego, CA. We've been meeting monthly since 2004. Our primary function is in-depth writing critique, marketing and brainstorming, but there's usually some wine, chocolate and ribaldry involved too. We write fantasy, humor, literary fiction, nonfiction, romance, thrillers and YA. Join us on our journeys to publication and the wonderland beyond!

Archives

