The Page a Day Writers Group

Getting An Education

Posted on: July 6, 2010

After about three decades, I’m thinking of going back to school. With two sons still in college, I’m not taking this lightly. I know how tough hitting the books can be. I’m not after another degree or anything, but recently I’ve felt the need to get a better handle on the art of creative writing. It’s evident that I need a brush up on the nuts and bolts of it all.

Should I go to virtual school or

attend classes in person?

 
Fortunately, there are lots of options. San Diego Writer’s Ink offers a wide variety of classes and workshops. The local community colleges have creative writing courses and there are online course as well. In fact,I’ve stumbled on 10 Universities Offering Free Writing Courses Online.
  
Here’s my quandry — Should I go to virtual school or attend classes in person? If you’ve taken any continuing education classes or online novel writing courses, I’d love to hear about your experience.
 
–Claire Yezbak Fadden
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
1 Response to "Getting An Education"

Wow, Claire, this is a fun decision to have to make. I recommend trying both- and reporting to us about how it is! I’ve also done quite a bit of research on virtual classes and have read excellent things about Gotham Writers’ Worshop. I may try them someday. Keep us posted! Cheers to new adventures!

Leave a Reply

Who are we?

The Page a Day Writers Group is a diverse collection of wonderful writers based in San Diego, CA. We've been meeting monthly since 2004. Our primary function is in-depth writing critique, marketing and brainstorming, but there's usually some wine, chocolate and ribaldry involved too. We write fantasy, humor, literary fiction, nonfiction, romance, thrillers and YA. Join us on our journeys to publication and the wonderland beyond!

Archives

