The Page a Day Writers Group

Have You Seen Her?

Posted on: July 1, 2010

My friend Ondine Brooks Kuraoka, recently blogged about the joy that comes with running your fingers across a cover, turning pages, and reading an actual book. And though I am definitely one of those people who LOVES books, I’ve decided to give e-books a try.

I figured why not start with my friend and critique partner – Chicki Brown’s new e-book!  In my quest to embrace this new concept (well new to me), I found out that you can get e-books without having to purchase a Kindle, iPad or even using an iPhone.  GREAT NEWS since I don’t own either!  AND you can download the FREE Kindle app for your PC!  http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html/ref=sa_menu_karl3?ie=UTF8&docId=1000493771

So that’s what I did and then I purchased my first e-book.  Have You Seen Her? The whole process was PAINLESS!  And I got a cool book in the process!  OH! And did I mention that it was only $2.99?  That alone might make me convert!

Check it out Have You Seen Her?

If she’d stayed any longer, her husband would have killed her.

Frantic to escape his drug-induced brutality, socialite Marcia Hadley escapes Santa Barbara and flees to Atlantic City. She’s sold everything she owns, rents a seedy inner city apartment and attempts to disappear as Dani Reynolds, cocktail waitress at Frenzy, a neighborhood nightclub.

Taylor Villanova, the club’s sexy multi-racial bouncer recognizes her naiveté and volunteers to teach her about surviving in the “hood.” Fearful and suspicious of men, Dani is at first repelled by his violent profession yet drawn to the compassionate nature that contradicts Taylor’s macho persona. But when her well-laid plans go awry, and Dani discovers someone is following her, she must put her complete trust in Taylor. Her time is running out.

Here’s how you can purchase it for just $2.99! http://www.amazon.com/Have-You-Seen-Her-ebook/dp/B003U2RVDY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&m=AG56TWVU5XWC2&s=digital-text&qid=1277821582&sr=1-1

You can also see the trailer on YouTube:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xXBmteVDtRY

So, even though I’m a big fan of actual books…you know, the ones you can sift through the pages with your fingers, or the ones you can use a real book mark between the pages, and the ones that are overpowering my bookshelves, I’m giving e-books a try.  What about you?

Sharon C. Cooper

5 Responses to "Have You Seen Her?"

Good for you, Sharon! And Have You Seen Her sounds excellent! I’ll put it on my to-read list. Cheers to Chicki!
Ondine

Thanks, Ondine! I’ll have the Page A Day Writer’s blog linked on my new blog site. …slowly but surely it will be in full swing.

I know Chicki would love it if you purchased and read her book! I think you’ll enjoy it…and you can’t beat the price!

I’m 24, a guy and I live in Philadelphia, but i find this blog awesome. I love writing -literary fiction for the most part -and reading, of course. Very intrigued by this blog. Plan on stopping by more often. I’ve always wanted to be a part of something as you all are, but it’s hard to find sincere dedicated writers to take part in such a thing. good day. (tips hat)

Thanks for stopping by, Andy! We hope you continue to visit our blog spot!

Thank you, Sharon! The exposure I’ve received from friends has been awesome.

And thanks to Ondine for the congrats! Hope you enjoy the story.

Leave a Reply

Who are we?

The Page a Day Writers Group is a diverse collection of wonderful writers based in San Diego, CA. We've been meeting monthly since 2004. Our primary function is in-depth writing critique, marketing and brainstorming, but there's usually some wine, chocolate and ribaldry involved too. We write fantasy, humor, literary fiction, nonfiction, romance, thrillers and YA. Join us on our journeys to publication and the wonderland beyond!

Archives

