The Page a Day Writers Group

Hats Off to the Faith & Fiction Retreat!

Posted on: June 24, 2010

I had one of the best weekends I’ve had in a long time.  I attended the fourth annual Faith & Fiction Retreat here in Atlanta.  For all of you writers, or aspiring writers, I highly suggest you attend future ones.  Prior to attending, I wondered why they called it a retreat instead of a conference.  Well, I received my answer.  It was a weekend of refuge, time of prayer & meditation, and a wealth of love being spread around by some of my favorite authors, and new friends.

Spending time with dynamic women was right up my alley!  I hung out with aspiring authors, like myself, who I didn’t know -but have established some wonderful new relationships.  Rhonda McKnight, Tia McCollors, Kimberla Lawson Roby, Stacy Hawkins Adams, Angela Benson, Victoria Christopher Murray, and ReShonda Tate Billingsley were just a handful of best selling authors represented.  They were full of information and more than willing to share.  There wasn’t a question they wouldn’t answer.  And they were very frank.  Often causing roars of laughter!  When we admire people as much as I admire these women, we often forget that they are just regular people.  It was like hanging out with girlfriends.

Listed below are some of the sessions:

New Author Showcase

Faith & Romance (ins & outs)

Book discussions – Sherri L. Lewis, The List and Tiffany L. Warren, In the Midst of it All.

Breaking into the Business

Anatomy of a Best Seller

Are You the Next Tyler Perry

Taboo subjects in Faith & Fiction (happy to say there weren’t any)

Marketing Bootcamp

There were also 2 pajama parties, several group book signings, and a wonderful banquet to close the retreat out.

In future posts, I will share more things about the retreat, but I just wanted to take this time to toot their horn a little, and give a shout out to those who were brave enough to take on the responsibility of coordinating the retreat.  It was great, and the efforts showed.  I won’t even bother trying to list names, because I know it takes more than just the people we see in the forefront to pull something like this off.

I’ll keep you posted on next year’s retreat.  You won’t want to miss it!

Sharon C. Cooper

5 Responses to "Hats Off to the Faith & Fiction Retreat!"

You looked like you were having a great time! Hope I can go next year …

Chicki, I hope you can attend also. I think you’ll truly enjoy it.

So glad you had this fantastic experience! Thank you for sharing it.

A wonderful time it was! I’m still movtivated and pressing on with my writing journey. It really is nice to have met some folks that can navigate the publishing road with me 🙂

Talk to you soon!

Feelings are mutual, Alicia!

Leave a Reply

Who are we?

The Page a Day Writers Group is a diverse collection of wonderful writers based in San Diego, CA. We've been meeting monthly since 2004. Our primary function is in-depth writing critique, marketing and brainstorming, but there's usually some wine, chocolate and ribaldry involved too. We write fantasy, humor, literary fiction, nonfiction, romance, thrillers and YA. Join us on our journeys to publication and the wonderland beyond!

Archives

