The Page a Day Writers Group

Kimberly Frost’s Take on the Publishing Industry, Author of the Southern Witch Series

Posted on: June 10, 2010

Hi everybody,

I’ve read recent discussions about the changes in the industry and their potential negative impact on writers’ abilities to create meaningful careers with interest. I guess I feel that the writing life is like the rest of life and is summed up best by that quote that says… “Sometimes you’re the windshield. Sometimes you’re the bug.”

I have no idea what’s going to happen to the book publishing industry next century, next decade, or even next year, but I am happy to report that for the past few weeks, I’ve gotten to be the windshield rather than the bug…

My editor loved the novel I turned in (yay!) and she loved my new proposal (yay again!) So she bought two new books from me. (Hurray! Celebration dance and such…)

Also, I’ve gotten emails from readers this week asking when my next book will be out. Since there are a zillion other novels, nonfiction books, TV shows, video games, yada yada, to keep people occupied, but they’ve taken time out of their day to write to me and let me know they’re waiting patiently (or, in the case of the email that was all in caps, not completely patiently) I guess I’m stubbornly going to believe that there will always be a place for stories that readers connect with.

I can’t promise that the road will get easier…ever. I definitely struggle with fear and doubt a lot–thoughts like: Is my readership growing fast enough to satisfy the publisher? Will readers be happy with the latest book? How can I plot a book while studying for a board exam and working overnight shifts? etc., etc., etc.

Yeah, the road can be rough and rocky. But I can promise one thing… there are moments when it will be worth it. I bet you’ve had some of them. A critique partner or a reader or an editor says you’ve made a breakthrough, or you make yourself laugh or cry or smile or melt while typing a new scene. This is what I wish for every one of us on every story we write. (That and big advance checks and front table placement and five-star reviews and… hang on, I just want to keep dreaming for a few more seconds…)

It is possible that the publishing sky is falling and, if so, I’m really pissed about it, but what can I do? I have never been able to quit writing and know I never will. I am a wake-in-the-middle-of-the-night, distracted-on-the-freeway-working-on-plot-twists, absolutely-unable-to-quit-writing writer. I’m married to it, for better or worse, in sickness and in health, ’til death (That’s right, I said DEATH) do us part.

So if the sky is falling, look for me under an umbrella, trying to get those last few words down before the end. And I really do hope you’ll be under the umbrella next to me, because while I can’t help being consumed with the writing madness, I prefer not to be crazy and alone.

xoxo,

Kimber

Kimberly Frost’s Southern Witch Series
Would-Be Witch – Book 1
Barely Bewitched – Book 2

Halfway Hexed – Book 3 will be available February 2011

http://www.frostfiction.com/

4 Responses to "Kimberly Frost’s Take on the Publishing Industry, Author of the Southern Witch Series"

It’s always nice to be the windshield, but you’re right: there are lots of moments when I enjoy the ups, and I don’t notice the downs writers talk about at all. I’ll be happy to join you under that umbrella, Kimber. 😉

Trish Wilkinson

I hope that umbrella has room for one more. I’m with ya!

What an adventure to be writing during this digital age with all its changes. Thank you for sharing your journey, Kimber! I hope your relishing those emails from readers asking when your next book is coming out 🙂

I am reading halfway hexed great book very entertaining love it.
When is the next on released please?

Keep up the great writting.

Leave a Reply

Who are we?

The Page a Day Writers Group is a diverse collection of wonderful writers based in San Diego, CA. We've been meeting monthly since 2004. Our primary function is in-depth writing critique, marketing and brainstorming, but there's usually some wine, chocolate and ribaldry involved too. We write fantasy, humor, literary fiction, nonfiction, romance, thrillers and YA. Join us on our journeys to publication and the wonderland beyond!

Archives

