The Page a Day Writers Group

The Treasure of Friends

Posted on: April 20, 2010

The importance of friendship has been on my mind a lot the past couple weeks. My most recent Woman@Heart essay honors my girlfriends — both long-time and recently discovered — as my life’s treasures.

Claire & Margaret

Margaret, my best friend from grade school, called unexpectedly. Because we don’t live near by we don’t see each other often. It doesn’t matter though. Our conversation picked up as if we just left Sister Mary Lauren’s seventh grade classroom. We chatted for hours and giggled just like we did when we were 13. If it wasn’t for Margaret, I wouldn’t have had a date for the prom.

Just this past weekend I was reminded once again of how special and accepting my female friends are. Each woman, in her own way, helps me to be a better person.

They notice the good stuff about us and aren’t afraid to expose it.

According to a UCLA study, time spent on girl talk actually counteracts the stresses we experience on a daily basis. Our friends help us gain self esteem and validation. They notice the good stuff about us and aren’t afraid to expose it. My circle of gal pals creates a sacred space where we share our feelings, thoughts and worries. We help each other through the bad and make the good even better.

I recently learned there’s a Women’s Friendship Day. It is celebrated on third Sunday in August. This year it falls on August 15. But I’m not waiting until then to tell those wonderful women in my life how important they are to me. Because of them, every day is friendship day.

To those of you (and you know who you are) who love me in spite of my shortcomings, I love you too!

–Claire Yezbak Fadden

2 Responses to "The Treasure of Friends"

Awesome post, Claire. Ditto – to the whole thing!
Trish

Yes- sacred space is right. Thank you for putting into words the *awesomeness* of our friendships, on so many levels. You are a treasure, Claire!

Leave a Reply

Who are we?

The Page a Day Writers Group is a diverse collection of wonderful writers based in San Diego, CA. We've been meeting monthly since 2004. Our primary function is in-depth writing critique, marketing and brainstorming, but there's usually some wine, chocolate and ribaldry involved too. We write fantasy, humor, literary fiction, nonfiction, romance, thrillers and YA. Join us on our journeys to publication and the wonderland beyond!

Archives

