The Page a Day Writers Group

Dawdle, Dally & Delay

Posted on: April 10, 2010

I needed to put in a good four or five hours on my rewrites today. I’d put in at least twice that amount of time rewriting them in my head. So instead, I puttered around for as long as I could. I did pretty much everything else I could do around the house — including packing up all the Easter decorations.

With nothing else to delay the inevitable, I sat in my chair and gently warmed up to the idea of beginning my day’s writing.

With nothing else to delay the inevitable, I sat in my chair and gently warmed up to the idea of beginning my day’s writing. I reshuffled my critique comments, straightened piles of papers and re-checked e-mails. That’s when I stumbled upon a shout out from storyfix.com (Larry Brooks) for Jennifer Blanchard’s site — procrastinatingwritersblog.com. Kismet! A blog written with me in mind.

The fact this site exists at all validates that all writers procrastinate. The blog is jam-packed with resources, support, advice and motivation for all of us dawdling writers. And as I read the latest posts, I discovered Jennifer is about to launch “Butt-In-Chair: A no-excuses writing productivity guide.” I can’t wait.

In the meantime, since it’s too early to put out the Fourth of July decorations, I’d better get back to writing.

–Claire Yezbak Fadden

3 Responses to "Dawdle, Dally & Delay"

Funny, Claire, how many times have I heard this same phrase, “Must get butt in chair.” from you? The jig is up. There are others out there. Of course there are. I hope you were able to focus and get your butt in the chair. Michelle Murphy Zive

Ahhh, this particular day you’ve mentioned sounds like a many of my days!

I got a kick out of this. Thanks for the link!

Leave a Reply

Who are we?

The Page a Day Writers Group is a diverse collection of wonderful writers based in San Diego, CA. We've been meeting monthly since 2004. Our primary function is in-depth writing critique, marketing and brainstorming, but there's usually some wine, chocolate and ribaldry involved too. We write fantasy, humor, literary fiction, nonfiction, romance, thrillers and YA. Join us on our journeys to publication and the wonderland beyond!

Archives

