The Page a Day Writers Group

Creating Space

Posted on: March 24, 2010

It’s Spring and I want to clean out closets, toss out useless stuff and make more space for life’s important things. Of course at the top of the list is family. But with regularity, I see “time to work on my novel”  steadily climbing the chart.  Along with it comes my desire to find the best place to write.

This morning I read a jewelry blog – Bling It On – and I was encouraged to see that all artisans struggle with this.  The blog was written testimony that creativity can happen anywhere, even on a familyroom couch.  

My current writing space is a nook in the corner of our livingroom. Pencils and papers, handwritten notes and piles of research books are strewn around. It shows a novice writer lives there. My space is a lot like the one Denise Yezbak Moore writes about in her blog, only her tools of the trade are beads, painting supplies and sewing materials.

I often dream about having a room where I could close the door at the end of a productive writing session. But I’ve realized that waiting for the perfect spot to write is like waiting for the perfect word or phrase. It might come eventually, but in the meantime, you’ve wasted a whole lot of time waiting.

 —Claire Yezbak Fadden

2 Responses to "Creating Space"

I agree – creativity can happen anywhere. Most days I feel I’m at my most creative when I’m not sitting at my desk. If I acted on all the ideas/thoughts I come up with in the shower, in the middle of the night, and when I’m at the gym, I’d probably be…rich!

Write on, Claire. My family is currently irritated with me I use our dining room table to write. So every night they have to clear all my stuff, and other piles of bills, Jack’s homework, etc. from the table to set it for dinner. My friend, Larissa, came over today and we cleaned out my utility closet/space. Next, is organizing my office. I look forward to having a space just for me and my writing. But in the meantime, it’s the dining room table where I can create in between making lunches, eating breakfast, and preparing dinner, anytime I can grab five minutes.

Leave a Reply

Who are we?

The Page a Day Writers Group is a diverse collection of wonderful writers based in San Diego, CA. We've been meeting monthly since 2004. Our primary function is in-depth writing critique, marketing and brainstorming, but there's usually some wine, chocolate and ribaldry involved too. We write fantasy, humor, literary fiction, nonfiction, romance, thrillers and YA. Join us on our journeys to publication and the wonderland beyond!

Archives

