The Page a Day Writers Group

Ready or Not, Advance Reading Here I Come

Posted on: December 29, 2009

It’s been at least five years since I attended my very first writers’ conference. I was much younger then. A wide-eyed hopeful, soaking in as much information as I could. Good thing I didn’t know how much I didn’t know.

This February, I’m attending the Southern California Writers’ Conference in San Diego. And I’m going one better. I’m ready (I think) to submit my novel for an advance reading. I feel a little bit like a novice swimmer who insists on jumping into the deep end of the pool.

I’ll mail two copies of the first 10 pages of my labor of love, creativity and frustration to an editor/agent of my choice. As a mom of three, it’s sorta like sending my kid off to camp for the first time. I think I’ve prepared him well enough, but I won’t know for sure until he comes back.

And what can I expect for my additional $50 fee. “This is a unique opportunity to receive substantive one-on-on evaluation of your work,” says the brochure. At the very least, I’m expecting a professional, impartial, real-world review of my novel.

I hope I’m ready for that. But the phrase: “If you don’t want the answer, don’t ask the question” continues to roll through my mind.

Claire Yezbak Fadden

3 Responses to "Ready or Not, Advance Reading Here I Come"

Whoo hoo! Way to go, Claire! I’m inspired…I’ll be pitching my second novel in June (at a conference). So I can’t wait to get feedback from you on how things go…or went…not sure which words sounds better.

I’m still not even sure which project I want feedback on yet. The deadline is coming up, and I haven’t said good-bye to my last visitor yet. At least you’re clear on what to pitch. Your story is great! The reader will probably have some ways to enhance the presentation, or whatever. That’s their job. We’ll all be there to hold your hand through the feedback if it isn’t what you expected. Just enjoy the ride! 🙂

I’m inspired too, Claire, once again by you. A courageous act to submit your work for advance reading/critique. I think we feel it when we’re ready for this- a developmental milestone. Hats off!

Leave a Reply

Who are we?

The Page a Day Writers Group is a diverse collection of wonderful writers based in San Diego, CA. We've been meeting monthly since 2004. Our primary function is in-depth writing critique, marketing and brainstorming, but there's usually some wine, chocolate and ribaldry involved too. We write fantasy, humor, literary fiction, nonfiction, romance, thrillers and YA. Join us on our journeys to publication and the wonderland beyond!

Archives

