The Page a Day Writers Group

Just the Beginning

Posted on: December 3, 2009

One of the books I’m reading now is, The Accidental Bestseller, by Wendy Wax –http://www.authorwendywax.com/.  The book (fiction) is entertaining and covers the writing life of four authors who, collaborate on a project, using their own lives as the meat of the story.  They’re shocked when the book suddenly becomes a best seller.  Although I’m still reading the book (and enjoying it immensely), something one of the characters, a big time writer in the story, declared that caught my attention.  She said, “Everyone wants to believe that once they sell their book the struggle is over, when it’s really just beginning.”

I couldn’t help but think about how hard it is to even find an agent…let alone a publisher.  And the thought of that not being the hardest part of the process is almost mind numbing!  I would’ve almost rather not known that the process of seeing my book on someone’s bookshelf is more involved than just writing a great story and selling it to the highest bidder.  Yeah, sure, I can start mentally preparing myself for that part of the process – ‘cause I’m crazy enough to believe my novels will sell and be published…one day.  But I have to say it sure does take some of the excitement out of my fantasy of getting one three-book deal after another, and then making the New York Times Best Selling Author list…in the next three years.

Oh well, I guess I’ll just keep pecking away on my keyboard and deal with this news like I do with other aspects of my life…cross that bridge when I get to it.

Sharon C. Cooper

Tags:

6 Responses to "Just the Beginning"

Sharon,

Thanks for putting into words what every writer feels. In spite of the odds, we have to keep at it. Word by word, a page a day, writing our book without knowing what’s at the end of the road.

I think that’s what makes what we do so exciting. There’s no guaranteed outcome, but for sure, there is guaranteed fullfillment in seeing your words on the page, even it’s only on your own computer screen.

Write on.

I agree, Claire! Though I’m curious to see what the ends going to bring (re: my novels), I am thoroughly enjoying the process! Thanks for commenting.

Sharon

Hi Sharon:

I think it’s probably both disheartening and madly exciting. How cool to be a new NY Times Bestselling author. You’re new, cool, and smoking. You’d probably just have to hang on for the ride whereas Stephen King probably looks at it like the Pro that he is and probably looks on it like business as usual. Seems like all a part of the growth process. 🙂

Hey, Alicia! Good hearing from you!

You’re right, it is all a part of the growth process and I plan to hang on for the ride. I’m enjoying the process too much, not to see it all the way through. I’m sure you feel the same way with your project.

Thanks for commenting!

Hey, Alicia! Good hearing from you!

You’re right, it is all a part of the growth process and I plan to hang on for the ride. I’m enjoying the process too much, not to see it all the way through. I’m sure you feel the same way with your project.

Thanks for commenting!

Sharon,

Thanks for turning me on to this blog! I’m so glad to hear that you’re enjoying the book. I had a great time reading it.

After hearing the multipublished, bestselling authors talk about their trials and tribulations, I think we keep on writing simply because we love it and then just hope for the best.

Leave a Reply

Who are we?

The Page a Day Writers Group is a diverse collection of wonderful writers based in San Diego, CA. We've been meeting monthly since 2004. Our primary function is in-depth writing critique, marketing and brainstorming, but there's usually some wine, chocolate and ribaldry involved too. We write fantasy, humor, literary fiction, nonfiction, romance, thrillers and YA. Join us on our journeys to publication and the wonderland beyond!

Archives

