The Page a Day Writers Group

Thanks to you…

Posted on: November 27, 2009

Yesterday, as my family gathered around the table to count our blessings, each of us took a moment to express what we were most grateful for: Good health, employment, the overcoming of difficult trials and the recognition of accomplishments large and small. My husband and I had something new to add to our lists this year. He offered his thanks to all the wonderful people who have helped usher my novel into the world, and I gave my thanks to every person who has bought the book.

Whether you loved it, hated it or simply shrugged and said, “meh!” after reading Ice Song, I am deeply grateful and honored that you chose my book. Every sale is valuable and meaningful to me. It is a recognition of my years of struggle, striving and survival. I am honored that you, dear reader, have taken the time to sit with me and invest your precious hours to hear my tale, and for that I thank you. Blessings to you and yours as we move into the season of short days and long nights. I hope that your winter is chock-full of good stories, loving friends and family, and pie, glorious pie.

Kirsten Imani Kasai

1 Response to "Thanks to you…"

Funny how a slice of pie and a desire to engage the reader can keep this writer chained to he computer.

Any time I receive a comment — postive or negative — about any of my writing, I think: Wow, someone spent their time reading my words. I am truly thankful. It’s rewarding, reaffirming and is just enough incentive to propel me to keep at it.

So, I’ll return to my computer later today, armed with a slice of French apple pie and a dolp of whipped cream to begin revision number 4, or 5 or is it 6.

Leave a Reply

Who are we?

The Page a Day Writers Group is a diverse collection of wonderful writers based in San Diego, CA. We've been meeting monthly since 2004. Our primary function is in-depth writing critique, marketing and brainstorming, but there's usually some wine, chocolate and ribaldry involved too. We write fantasy, humor, literary fiction, nonfiction, romance, thrillers and YA. Join us on our journeys to publication and the wonderland beyond!

Archives

