The Page a Day Writers Group

A Fictional World

Posted on: November 10, 2009

I think I’m obsessed with my new characters!  They say the first step is admitting you have a problem, well I’ve just admitted it.  Now, what to do about it? I’ve taken living in a fictional world to a whole new level!  I imagine this is what it would have felt like, as a child, to have a make believe friend.  Instead I have two!  The fine and sexy Tyler Hollister and the beautiful, sassy woman he’s madly in love with, Dallas Marcel.  We became friends a couple of years ago when they showed up in my first romance novel (manuscript).  Since then, their lives have progressed and they’re a couple now…well almost.  They’re still trying to find their way back to each another. 

At any rate, this is the problem.  I can’t stop thinking about them!   Not to say that I’m God or anything, but I have mapped out their entire lives, yet they keep running into road blocks – which is probably why I keep thinking about them.   I know they’ll eventually find their way, with my gentle guidance, but in the meantime, I need to figure out how to put some mental distance between the three of us.  I daydream about them when I’m standing in the checkout line at the grocery store and they dominate my dreams at night, even when I know I have to get up at 4am!  And when I’m on the elliptical, at the gym, they’re right there with me.  The scary part is – they’re wonderful company!  They don’t always go along with what I say initially, but they usually succumb to my way of thinking.

So all I’m sayin’ is, I don’t want my next couple of months to be all about them, even though they are currently dominating a great deal of my time. 

Now, to all of you writers, who live or have lived in a fictional world at some time or another, let me know if this has ever happened to you, and if so, what did you do?

Posted by: Sharon C. Cooper

1 Response to "A Fictional World"

Sometimes my characters live so close to me that when bad things happen to them, I find myself in tears. A scene where a problem gets resolved can put me in a good mood. On occasions when their lives get romantically steamy, they get me hot, too.
It’s all part of the ride. It’s what makes writing fiction such an amazing experience. 😉

Leave a Reply

Who are we?

The Page a Day Writers Group is a diverse collection of wonderful writers based in San Diego, CA. We've been meeting monthly since 2004. Our primary function is in-depth writing critique, marketing and brainstorming, but there's usually some wine, chocolate and ribaldry involved too. We write fantasy, humor, literary fiction, nonfiction, romance, thrillers and YA. Join us on our journeys to publication and the wonderland beyond!

Archives

